emac3326

Learning Emerging Media

Effler Blog

Posted by emac3326 on August 25, 2006

Mary Effler,

here’s the link to my blog:
http://maryeffler.blogspot.com

Well, now that I have a blog, I guess I should give it a purpose, huh? I chose the name “A continental breakfast for Socrates”, simply cause after philosophy class one day, that sounded like a really cool name for a website or blog or book…or something. Maybe a classic rock band.

In internet studio, we were asked to brainstorm ideas for a website (as our assignment at the end of that class is to develop a full site). In looking at that list, I realized that several of those could be adapted into a blog form as well. Looking at the name of my blog, I could do something related to philosophy…either posting reactions to certain works of philosophy that we look at in class, or posting basic info on philosophy, or something like that. As I have an interest in world religions, I could try to relate philosophical matters to understanding religion. Or I could really mess with people’s minds and have the name be completely unrelated to the blog whatsoever, and have it focus on something else entirely, like Dilbert, or web/graphic design, or kittens in space.
Well, I’ll be serious at this point, and say that at the time, I would like to do something with philosophy for this blog, as reflecting upon it in a blog might help me better formulate my ideas for class discussions and essays in my philosophy class. I was also considering having my internet studio website deal with philosophy, so it would be a good addition to that website, should I choose to focus on that. Do you think this would work?
I’ll get the podcast info to you later.

One Response to “Effler Blog”

  1. emac3326 said

    First off, I love the name. Love it. And I agree, it might make a good band name, too, although a bit long for that. As far as what to do with the blog, I recommend that you blog about something you care about and something that is in the normal course of your studies, your day, your interests. This will make it much easier for you to update, particularly as time and demands get tougher. It looks as though you can work this with philosophy. It might be good to jot down some thoughts and reactions to what you are learning. We can talk about it more in class this week.

    d.

Leave a Reply

 
